Color, Diamond

One of the “4 C’s” of diamond grading, color is graded on a letter scale with D being a colorless diamond, and Z being one with pale yellow color. The letters are grouped together in broader classifications:

D-F: Colorless
G-J: Near Colorless
K-M: Faint
N-R: Very Light
S-Z: Light

Darker than Z takes you into the fancy color diamond range, which includes yellow, pink, blue, green, brown and black. These have their own color designations and are not graded on the D-Z scale.

You can read more about diamond cut grades on the GIA website:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.